The Commission convenes a series of Panels which focus on specific challenges or topics. These are self-organised and open for people to join.

Climate Adaptation and Resilience Panel

Leading the Commission’s work on climate risks and impacts, adaptation planning and building capacities for resilience.

Co-Chairs –  Rosa Foster (Environment Agency), Roz Davies (Mental Health Trust, West Yorkshire) and Stephen Scott-Bottoms (Manchester University)

Members - Alan Bravey (East Riding of Yorkshire Council), Alexis Percival (Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust), Amanda Crossfield (Yorkshire Water), Amandeep Kaur Maan, (Eco-Sikh), Ben Tongue (NHS Digital), Charlotte Davenport (NHS Digital), Chris Soper (Sewell Construction), Cllr Scott Patient (Calderdale Council), Denise Loten (National Trust), Dr Jatinder Singh Mehmi (Sikh Alliance Yorkshire), Dr Steven Forrest (University of Hull), Ed Leech (Drax), Frank Swinton (West Yorkshire and Harrogate Healthcare Partnership), Hannah Lawton (University of Leeds), Helen Kelly (NHS Digital), Jenny Patient (TUC in Yorkshire & Humber), Josephine Ozols Riding (West Yorkshire and Harrogate Healthcare Partnership), Kate Adams (NFU North East Area), Kate Josephs (Sheffield City Council), Kate Smith (Kate Smith Consulting), Jonathan Moxon (Leeds City Council), Liam O'Reilly (Natural England), Kathryn Warrington (Sheffield City Council), Mark Whitworth (Sheffield City Council), Martyn Broadest (Connect Housing Association), Matthew Robinson (North Yorkshire County Council), Nigel Foster (Fore Consulting), Pedro Beltran-Alvarez (University of  Hull), Rachel Harcourt (University of Leeds), Robert Hall (Hermes Investment), Sally Parker (Environment Agency), Stuart Strathdee (Greenhead College) and Tom Finnegan-Smith (Sheffield City Council).            

Net-Zero Panel 

Leading the Commission’s work on net-zero and on transitions in energy, housing, the build environment, industry, transport and waste.

Chairs – Simon Pringle (Project Rome) and Professor Andy Gouldson (University of Leeds)

Members - Alexis Percival (Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust), Chris Herring (Green Building Store), Carl Bairstow (Efficiency North), Chris Broome (South Yorkshire Climate Alliance), Daniel Barrett (West Yorkshire Combined Authority), Ed Leech (Drax), Emma Bridge (Community Energy England), Emma Richards (The Carbon Literacy Project), Katie Thomas  (Business Inspired Growth), Marian Kempson (Ecoperspective), Martin Budd (Hull City Council), Martyn Broadest (Connect Housing Association), Melanie Taylor (Northern Gas Networks), Nigel Foster (Fore Consulting), Peter Cole  (Fore Consulting), Rachel Maskell (Parliament), Rebecca Stafford (Catapult), Richard James Smith (Doncaster Council), Richard Sulley (Sheffield City Council), Sajalu Dahal (Hull and East Yorkshire Local Enterprise Partnership), Sarah Clark  (Aura Innovation Centre, University of Hull), Shaun Gibbons (City of York Council), Shaun Berry (Kirklees Council), Simon Bowens (Friends of the Earth), Stuart Strathdee (Greenhead College), Tanisha Beebee (Drax) and Jenny Patient (TUC in Yorkshire & Humber).

Communities and Engagement Panel

Leading the Commission’s work on inclusion and engagement, and on communication and awareness building.

Chairs –  Amandeep Kaur (EcoSikhUK), Gill Mulroe

Members -  Simon Bowens (Friends of the Earth), Edward Dickinson (Environment Agency), Aimee Linfoot (Yorkshire Water), Dr Jatinder Singh Mehmi (Sikh Alliance Yorkshire), Dr. Glenis Wedzicha (NYE Federation of Women's Institutes (NYEWI)), Emma Bridge (Community Energy England), Emma Gilbank (Connect Housing), Emma Richards (The Carbon Literacy Project), Holly Hansen-Maughan (Harrogate College), Kathryn Lock (Placed-based Climate Action Network), Marian Kempson (Eco-perspective), Martyn Broadest (Connect Housing), Polly Cook (Leeds City Council), Prof Stephen Scott Bottoms (University of Manchester), Simon Moore (University of Leeds), Stuart Strathdee (Greenhead College), Tony Stevens (Environment Agency), Siobhan Laird (South Yorkshire Climate Alliance), Blessing Mucherera (University of Hull), Karen Mann (Yorkshire Local Councils Associations), Jan Boyd (Environmental and Management Solutions), Charlotte Waller                                         

Future Economy Panel

Leading the Commission’s work on business and economy including on employment and skills, finance and investment.

Chairs –  Bill Adams (TUC) and Professor Andy Gouldson (University of Leeds)

Land, Water, Nature and Food Panel

Leading the Commission’s work connecting the climate emergency to land (inc. food and farming), rural development, ecology and biodiversity and nature-based solutions.

Chair –  Rachael Bice (Yorkshire Wildlife Trust)

Members - Catt Scott (University of Leeds), Damian Allan (Doncaster Council), Dr Debbie Treblico (NY Rural Commission), Helen Batts (Environment Agency), Iain Mann (Nidderdale AONB), India Rayner (Arup), John Le Corne (Heeley City Farm), Kate Adams (NFU),  Lee Pitcher (Yorkshire Water), Paige Garside (Arup), Paul Duncan (Natural England), Peter Leighton-Jones (The Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust), Robin Tuddenhan  (Calderdale Council), Sarah Pemberton (National Trust), Simon Pringle (Project Rome), Siobhan Laird (South Yorkshire Climate Alliance) and Victoria Murray (Environment Agency).

Research and Evidence Panel

Ensuring that the Commission connects to the region’s research base to strengthen the evidence base underpinning its work and to allow it to foster and benefit from future research. Convened by Yorkshire Universities. 

Chairs – Dr Peter O’Brien (Yorkshire Universities), Monika Antal (Yorkshire Universities) and Professor Dan Parsons (University of Hull)

Members - Andy Gouldson (University of Leeds), Christopher Gorse (Leeds Beckett University), Dennis Lam (University of Bradford), Jo Cutter (University of Leeds), Patrick Flavin (University of Huddersfield), Rachael Rothman (University of York), Rob Hardie (University of Sheffield), Robyn Inglis ( University of York), Vera Trapmann (University of Leeds) and William Eadson (Sheffield Hallam University).